Why now, Michael Sam? (A letter to Michael Sam)

Preferred Walk-ons

BY: BRANDON TURNER

Why now, Michael Sam? Why did you decide to come out to the national media now? You knew you were gay back in August when you told your teammates. And you had to have realized with this some time before that. So why now?

Don’t get me wrong. I support you. I want you to do whatever makes you happy. You deserve to be happy. You deserve to have whatever sexuality you deem is right for you. No one can take that away from you. I will fight along side you to make this happen.

But why now? You see, I’m skeptical. Not that you’re gay. I have no right or reason to challenge that. But I’m not sure why you decided this was the time to tell everyone. I’m skeptical that this announcement is coming from a manipulative place.

You had to have learned in football…

View original post 745 more words

Leave a Reply

