What Soccer Can Teach Us About Grading

Strawn ED

As I briefly alluded to in my previous post, I got hooked on soccer watching the 2010 World Cup. Landon Donovan’s goal against Algeria is one of the most spectacular sports moments I have ever witnessed. In that moment, I was converted. That fall, I ordered the extra sports package to be able to follow the Premier League and my newly adopted team, Everton FC (thanks in large part to #24 Tim Howard). Ever since, I have been a huge fan, learning more and more about the beautiful game and getting ready for 2014 in Brazil.

Landon Donovan celebrating his winning goal against Algeria to send the USA to the top of Group C and into the knockout round in the 2010 World Cup (photo: ussoccer.com). Landon Donovan celebrating his winning goal against Algeria to send the USA to the top of Group C and into the knockout round in the 2010 World Cup (photo: ussoccer.com).

While I played soccer growing up, it was never with the same passion as baseball. I have nothing beyond a surface-level understanding of soccer…

View original post 661 more words

Leave a Reply

